CREATING A NEW NATION OF HOPE!

I couldn’t sleep last night thinking about our troubled nation. What happened with the Boston Marathon recently and even the shootings in New Town last year, leaves my heart very, very heavy.  Even today, there is still so much hatred, poverty, envy and the like AND this is the world our children will be left to grow up in.  That troubles me immensely.   I’ve decided to do something about it, though.  I’m not just going to sit on my hands, waiting and HOPING things will get better.  I am GOING TO BE THE CHANGE!  I. ME…yes, little ole’ me, am CREATING A NEW AND BETTER NATION!  I am calling it NONNIE NATION!

We’ve all heard the terms enemies, frenemies, and mini-mes…but what do they mean?  If I  were to “lean unto my own understanding” (which is what I am about to do here), I would say that an enemy is definitely not your friend, no clarity needed here; a frenemy (if that’s how it is to be spelled), is somewhere in between a friend and an enemy (and you should really watch your back with this one); and a mini-me would be someone just like YOU  (and if you are a good person with a very good heart, that’s an awesome thing). But starting today we will have NONNIE-MES!  And I know you’re wondering “what the heck is a NONNIE-ME?!” so let me just jump right into it.

In our NEW NONNIE NATION, there will only be LOVE, KINDNESS, HONOR, HONESTY, RESPECT AND TONS OF MANNERS! WOW…that almost sounds like a perfect world, doesn’t it? And much too good to be true. But it can be, and it WILL be, if we really want it to be.  Once you enter NONNIE NATION for the first time, you might feel a little shell-shocked because you’ve probably never experienced any of these things before.  I will even go so far as to say that you’re probably more accustomed to:  hatred, rudeness, lies, disrespect and no manners at all.  How sad is that?  We are so filled with hatred that we can’t see past the red fire in our eyes that leads us to feel this way towards others who we view as “different”; there are so many rude people in the world that when even an inkling of kindness is shown, we recoil as if having been slapped in the face; we have stretched the truth so far that we have started to believe our own lies; kids and adults alike are so disrespectful that in their world, RESPECT is a dirty little word;  and manners, what are those? THERE WILL BE NO NEW WORLD UNLESS WE CREATE IT, JUST THE WAY WE WANT IT TO BE and so NONNIE-MES are people who embody all the qualities above.  They are loving, kind, honest, respectful and extremely manner-able.

Everyone will not be allowed into NONNIE NATION.  Oh no!  You will have to come armed and ready for battle against any ugly that aspires to creep in.  You will have to WANT to be loving, kind, honest, respectful and manner-able. You will have to defy any and all negativity that might threaten the borders of our new nation. So are you up to that challenge?  Are you ready to create a nation that will serve as a safe haven for our children and their children?  Will you join me in NONNIE NATION?  I have a feeling you will.  I know that you can’t be happy with all the discard here on earth.  I know that you are not welcoming of all the turmoil and dangers that surround us.  You’re ready, as I am for a change.  So let US be the change which we want to see in the world…in the new NONNIE NATION and in the interim, in this world we live in now.

It won’t be hard and you can start small, you know, with little baby steps.  Hold open the door for the next person coming through, allow the lady behind you to go ahead of you in the line at the market, pause and allow 1, 2 or even 3 cars to come out and merge into traffic in front of you, and please say “THANK YOU, EXCUSE ME, YOU’RE WELCOME and YES MA’AM” when situations dictate you do so. Teach your children so that they may also live in NONNIE NATION.

Again, will you join me?  Are you interested in becoming a Nonnie-Me and not someone’s enemy? You are.  I know you are.  When you become a Nonnie-Me you are vowing to make a change for the better and you are vowing to be the change you want to see in the world.  I am a NONNIE-ME.  How about you? Simply respond with I AM A NONNIE-ME and begin to do the work.  I look forward to seeing you all in our new NONNIE NATION!

1 Comment

  1. rbwalker

    Thanks Nonnie! Very good read, which also gave me a few new pointers, being I’m the father of two lovely young ladies. Keep up the good work, I will be following you future endeavors!

    Like

Leave a Reply

