EVERYBODY’S GOT TO GO THRU A STORM

Do you ever feel like nothing’s going right in your world?  Ever have the feeling you’re rowing a big boat all on your own, with only one oar, and it’s the left one, and you’re right-handed?  Well, tonight, as I sit trying to find words to finish a chapter in my next book, those are my feelings. And although I’m not at all comfortable in these feelings, I know that we all must go thru them.  I call them STORMS.  Why?  Because they’re sometimes very rocky, turbulent, causing you to feel as if you’re being tossed about on a great big ocean, with high winds and heavy rains.  A storm.

Earlier I did feel something brewing.  It was the calm before the storm.   I can recall sitting on my back porch (which is something I never do…so that should have been a sign), pen and paper in my lap, staring straight out into the world.  No thoughts.  No words for that paper and no action for that pen.  Nothing.  I just sat there, taking in the peace and the quiet, wondering why IT WAS.  It’s never that quiet.  Never that peaceful.  At least not here.  Not with me.  Not in my thoughts.  So, I knew that something was coming, and I felt it would be something BIG!  Even the dog paced the yard as if he was afraid of some impending doom.  He knew.  Dogs know.  Don’t they?

As I rose from my chair, forgetting pen and paper that had been cradled in my lap, the pen hit the deck with a thud so loud, it made me snap out of whatever daze I had been in.  The sheet of paper held on as it was tossed to and fro by the wind.  Even it was in a storm and I couldn’t save it, as it fluttered over my fence into a neighboring yard. Wait…did I just say I couldn’t save the piece of paper being tossed by the wind?  I can’t save me from my own storm, how could I possibly begin to think of saving something or someone else from theirs?! OK, scratch that thought.

Now, I remember a long time ago reading something that said “when you’re in a storm (such as the one I feel myself in now), you must do NOTHING.  This is what’s called a “GOD JOB”.  It is the time when he will come in and take your hand and walk you right thru that storm and all you have to do is simply WAIT!  Wait on the Master.  Wait until you feel his presence, AND wait for that new-found peace to wash over you.  But until then, YOU.DO.NOTHING! You sit.  You stare.  You don’t speak.  You don’t move.  Be still.  And whatever your storm, no matter how tumultuous, he will bring you right through it.  You wait. Sometimes you may not even know the source of your storm, but you feel a stirring deep down, in your deepest place and you know YOU’RE GOING THRU at that moment. GOD swoops right in and gives you peace at that moment when you’re understanding is beyond any comprehension.  You wait.

And so as I waited, I realized “everybody’s got to go thru a storm” at some point in their lives.  Whether it’s mourning the loss of a loved one, the loss of a job, wondering how you’re going to put food on the table for your family, a divorce, a Cancer diagnosis, fear in your mind, mental illness, a loss of a child (now that’s a major storm, all in itself)…whatever the disruption in your life ( aka THE STORM), it is inevitable.  Everybody’s got to go thru one.

When your storm hits (and it will, sometimes several times during the course of your one  lifetime), remember… that’s a GOD JOB.  That’s the time YOU.DO.NOTHING. You sit. You stare.  You don’t speak. You don’t move.  Be still.  And whatever your storm, no matter how tumultuous, he will bring you right through it. You wait.

My storm is over now, and although I knew not the source, I heeded that advice which I’d read so long ago.  I sat. I was still.  I.DID.NOTHING.  And when I felt myself at the threshold of my storm, when my chest heaved so high after that last tear fell, all of a sudden, there was peace, and I knew that at that moment, GOD had taken my hand and he was walking me right on thru.   I’m back at my computer now and there are words for a NEW piece of paper and there is action for that same pen.  My head is clear and I can see the end of yet another chapter.

Are you in the midst of a storm now?  Just wait.  It’ll all be over very soon.

38 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Room With Books and commented:
    Be still and listen for that small voice . . .

    Like

  2. Kim

    YES JULES!!! You hit the nail on the head with that. I once read “when you face a challenge say to yourself –I need do nothing.” Which falls right inline with exactly what you wrote here. Well written, I love it!!

    Like

    • I love that, Kim! Thanks for stopping by, encouraging me!

      Like

  3. Shirley Harris-Slaughter

    I love this post. Not only the color, but the words written on it. I guess I’ve been in a storm for quite some time because I have yet to put pen to paper. It just seems that I have not mastered how to make use of my time. I always have something to do. Of course, its not on the scale that you have Nonnie, but nevertheless, its my scale. I know what I want to say and do, I just have to do it!!

    Like

    • Shirley, all in due time…if you haven’t put pen to paper yet, then maybe it’s not the right time for you to do it. You’ll know when…

      Like

  4. reanolanmartin

    Love this, Nonnie! We have to know when to be still, right? So glad you came out of it alright. xo

    Like

  5. I really needed this today. Thank you.

    Like

    • Then, I’m so glad it was here for you! Be OK, Anne Margaret!

      Like

  6. Good, sound advice.

    Like

  7. Reblogged this on Novels by Jennifer Hinsman.

    Like

  8. God is great Nonnie. Let me tell you what happened to me this morning. I arrived at the train station on my way back to New Jersey, and I felt like something pushed me. Immediately, my mind went, let go! And I let myself go, and landed on the ground like a feather. A man who was holding the door for me ran, and called two security men. They came running, but I was already on my feet. They wanted to look me over, massage my knee, just do something, but I smiled and told them that I was okay. That incident reminded me of Psalm 91. He sent His angels.

    Like

    • The angels were with you, Joy! Glad you’re OK. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  9. Great advice, Nonnie!

    Like

    • Thanks, Rebecca and also for sharing it on your blog, as well!

      Like

  10. beckyreilly2013

    Reblogged this on Rebecca Reilly – Author.

    Like

  11. Wonderful advice (still) I have often thought of you as I employ God Job to those things I can’t control.

    Like

    • That’s right, John H. When it’s too big for us, it is definitely a GOD JOB! He’ll work it out each and every time. Even in those times when the outcome isn’t what you hoped for, then he worked it out in the lesson you were left with.

      Thanks, John!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Beautiful and inspiring post. It reminds me to listen for the “still small voice.” In our fast-forward world we often want an immediate solution to whatever we’re facing, but God works on His timetable. Loved this!

    Like

    • WOW! You people are giving me loads to dwell on today…”still small voice.” YES! You have to be still to hear it, right, Mae?

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  13. Sage advice, Nonnie, because all too often we try to fix everything by ourselves. Some things can’t be fixed or erased and simply must be endured. Sitting quietly and putting your hand in God’s is the very best thing any of us can do to weather life’s storms. Thanks for these timely and timeless words!

    Like

    • Thank you, John, for adding your powerful words and thoughts to the mix!

      Like

  14. Reblogged this on Anita Dawes & Jaye Marie and commented:
    I was…this morning, and like you said, I did nothing and waited. And here I am, just like always…

    Like

    • Good for you, Jenanita! As long as you’re here, it means you came out on the other side!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. harmonykentonline

    What a lovely post, and so very true. In my experience, it’s not what happens that is the most important bit, but how we perceive it, and this affects our responses and how much suffering we go through. To rely on God, or a higher power, or anything other than wallowing in the mud, is so helpful. It allows us to (eventually) find the jewel in that mud. The one thing we can depend upon is change, and we won’t always want that change but it happens nonetheless. We have to be still enough to go with it and be open to whatever is there. It takes a lot to be the calm centre in a storm, but it is so worth it in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

    • “Being the calm center in a storm…” Harmz, I love that! I wonder if it’s something we can “practice?” You know, work on being, although I would imagine that in the time of your actual storm, your behavior and actions will be solely dependent on how strong the storm.

      Thanks for giving me something to think about!

      Like

  16. We do all go through storms. When it isn’t my turn I am thankful, but know that those in the storm need prayers. When it is my turn again, I hope I have the faith to do as you said and just let Him work.

    Like

    • Mary, just “be still and do nothing.” It’s a GOD JOB!

      Like

  17. A very wise person once said, “Don’t tell God how big your storm is. Tell your storm how big your God is.”

    Nonnie, I loved this post!

    Like

    • Julie, I’ve heard that, as well! Love it, Love it, Love it!

      Thanks for reminding me of that!

      Like

  18. Just finished reading “Fierce With Age – Chasing God and Squirrels in Brooklyn” – your post is very reminiscent of its premise..

    Like

    • I will have to find that peace and read it myself, Mimi! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  19. Reblogged this on Watch Nonnie Write! and commented:

    Somebody, somewhere today needs to hear these words. So, I’m re-blogging it.

    Like

  20. rbwalker

    These storms you refer to are very real! I believe we all go through them, the most important thing is that we grow from them!

    Like

    • Ron, growing from your storm is the best thing that could ever happen to you. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. Throughout the storms of life….a Quote…of thanks | Greatpoetrymhf's Weblog

Leave a Reply

