The (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS Blog Tour: Writing The Book Was The Easy Part!

Hello all and welcome to another leg of my wonderful tour!  Although we were supposed to be at another stop today, things sometimes happen, such as LIFE, and that’s when you have to jump in and re-arrange things at the last minute.  There was absolutely no way I was going to disappoint you guys by not having a place for you to hang out and have coffee and donuts.  I know you’re following us all over the place on this tour, and I, and my other lovely “Jules” really appreciate your support.  Now let’s get right into it!

Today I will be sharing a little something different with you guys.  I’m going to talk to you about MY personal journey down this writing and publishing road.  As you all know, I am a self-published Author and “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS”, 100 Tips On Raising Daughters Everyone Can’t Help But Love! is my very first published piece of work.  The idea to write this book had been floating around in my head for quite some time, but I really didn’t know how I would actually make it happen…translation…how I would get it published.  (It took a girlfriend of mine to jolt me into action).  We’ve all heard the horror stories of writers’ work sitting, collecting dust on a shelf while waiting to be picked up by a publishing house or the like. I did not want to be THAT writer.   During this time, I met another self-published Author who turned me on to Amazon’s KDP Publishing, and I haven’t looked back!  I must be honest though, although it took me only 17 days to write this entire book, it took me a lot longer to publish it.  Why, you ask, when I was so happy about the KDP Publishing process?  Well, I thought that I would finish writing the book then just hit UPLOAD and wa lah!, my manuscript would be an actual BOOK online (on Amazon to be more specific), and ready for the world to purchase!  Well, that didn’t happen.

So, there it sat for a few days while I had to learn how to format the book for the Kindle (“what’s a Kindle?” …yes, seriously I was asking that question).  I was so frustrated because of this roadblock, that I seriously contemplated throwing in the towel. But a wonderful friend of mine, who is also a self-published Author, stepped in and shook me (virtually) and said “If you want to be an Author, you HAVE TO TAKE THE TIME AND LEARN THIS STUFF!  ALL OF IT!” By “this stuff”, he meant EVERYTHING having to do with the publishing process.  He explained to me that even if a publishing house were to sign me one day, that this was all education I was still going to need.  Because he knew that I was extremely overwhelmed and anxious to get my book published, he took it, formatted it, sent it back to me and then (after re-proofing) I finally got to hit the UPLOAD button!  I think I heard Angels singing that day!  I was FINALLY A PUBLISHED AUTHOR!

The reason I wanted to share all of this with you, was because I want you to know that although it’s not necessarily an easy, easy process, it is a very do-able one, and something you CAN get thru.  You see, when I would write, I would just sit down and start typing.  Who formats anything?  (Obviously, everyone but me).  I want to encourage you to never give up your dream of becoming a published Author.  Especially now, when the process is not as difficult as it was in the past.  We don’t necessarily need publishers and publishing houses to get our work out there anymore, we CAN be our own publishers and establish our own publishing houses.  Isn’t that exciting to know?  It was for me.

For all the new writers, aspiring Authors, and bloggers, my advice to you would be to FIRST…just breathe.  Then, commit in your mind TO DOING THE WORK because although it’s an easy fix around a typically lengthy process, it’s still hard work.  Take to YouTube and Google to learn everything you need to know from start to finish of the writing/publishing process.  Join author groups, start your own blog before you begin writing a book, and see how comfortable you are there.  I’m still not totally clear on everything, but at least I know how to get started when I feel I’m ready to jump in and get it done.  I know where to look to find my answers, and I understand that patience and perseverance are what’s needed to become successful in this industry.  When you take to social media, where I came across so many naysayers telling me that “I had to learn to play the game” (What game?  I’m serious about this), “I needed to put in my time before I would be able to get anyone to say YES to help me” (Really?  Because I found some seriously cool people who jumped right in to help me), and believe me, there is a lot more where all that came from.  So, just be prepared.  As singer/songwriter Kandi Burress belts out on her stages… “You have to FLY ABOVE ALL THE DRAMA”, and if you are successful in doing that, the naysayers will never, ever be able to bring you down.

Before I go, I’d like to share with you the two projects that I have in the works right now:  a children’s book entitled “KIRSTEN AND THE BIG BLUE TREE” , which is due out at the end of this month (June, 2013) and a as-yet-to-be-titled novel, with a release date of August 30, 2013.

I hope you’ve enjoyed your visit here today and ask that you please become a FOLLOWER of my blog here.  I am also giving away one $25 Amazon Gift Card at the conclusion of this tour and you can register at http://www.nonniejules.com (under the EVENTS tab).  I’m always on Twitter @nonniejules, and on Facebook (Nonnie Jules) promoting others as well as myself. (I know, a normal person would probably say, “Promoting myself as well as others”), but for some strange reason, I start out helping others before I even think of helping me.  Just a nasty, old (nice) habit I have.

Thanks again for coming by.  I welcome your comments on my blog and I wish you all the best and every success you deserve!Image

Leave a Reply

