The “STILL ALL ABOUT DAUGHTERS” Blog Tour

Well, it’s day 4 of the “STILL ALL ABOUT DAUGHTERS” Blog Tour and I know that you guys were expecting to visit us somewhere else today, but my dear friend Mimi who was scheduled to host,  is not feeling up to par, so we’ve moved everything over here.  But, I am asking that after each of you leave here, you stop by Waiting For The Karma Truck and wish Mimi well for me.

As the title of this tour implies, I am STILL writing about Daughters.  My first book, “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS” is all about my experiences raising my two wonderful daughters who are truly (almost) perfect.  There are 100 tips in this book and I have taught each and every one of them to both my daughters;  one now a young adult and the other a teenager.

Recently, I asked both of them to sit down and make me individual lists of 15 things that I had taught them throughout the years.  Neither of them had read my book yet, so I instructed them to not discuss these lists with each other.  I was going off to the market and I asked that they have them completed upon my return.  I am extremely proud to share both of those lists with you below:

YOUNG ADULT DAUGHTER’S LIST:

1)  Class;  2)  Kindness;  3)  Love;  4) Family Values;  5)  Confidence;  6)  Meaning of Beauty;  7)  Knowledge;  8)  Friendship;  9)  Effective Communication;  10)  Strength;  11)  Manners;  12)  Respect;  13)  Independence;  14)  Responsibility and 15)  Honesty.

She then went on to write me a letter.  Although she called it mumble-jumble because she was writing too fast, I’ve printed it just the way it was given to me.

“Dear Mommy, you have taught me many things throughout these 20 plus years of my life.  The #1 lesson that I have learned from you is CLASS.  You’ve always been big on that and you’ve always stressed how imperative it is that we conduct ourselves like Ladies at all times.  KINDNESS is the second thing.  Even though you are full of sass, you’ve always taught us to be kind to others and especially towards one another.  LOVE is a huge one as well.  Love is such a strong word and you’ve always taught us to love til we can’t anymore.  FAMILY is something that is a big deal in our home.  We are all we have at the end of the day.  If no one else cares, we have each other.  CONFIDENCE runs in our blood.  There’s you with your writing, me with my acting/modeling/news anchoring, Dad with his great athletic abilities and strong management skills and my sister with her great mind and athletic talents.  We all have something we are great at and with that comes confidence.  You and Dad have always taught us to be confident in all that we do.  You have stressed to us the meaning of BEAUTY.  We can be gorgeous all day long, but if we have an ugly heart, then that characteristic takes all of the outward beauty away.  You taught us that beauty is on the inside and out.  KNOWLEDGE is power.  You are constantly reminding us of the importance of excelling in our education and to always learn as much as we can, for as long as we can.  Mom, you taught us how to be great friends.  You’ve stressed LOYALTY and how important it is to surround ourselves with friends who are dependable and loyal just as we are.  COMMUNICATION is also a biggie.  You’ve always been the one to “preach” effective communication skills and the importance of speaking intellectually.  I can appreciate that more now that I’m older and have to speak to people in a more professional manner.  STRENGTH is something you teach but I’m still learning…not just from you, but from Daddy as well.  I have learned that we are fighters in our family and that we never quit or give up.  Now the next two tie in with each other:  RESPECT and MANNERS.  Politeness is key to treating everyone the way you want to be treated.  I used to think that it was so repetitive to continually say “Yes ma’am” and “No ma’am”, but I have a better appreciation for it now.  There are women who tell me to stop referring to them as “Ma’am” and to stop calling them “Ms./Mrs.” and call them by their first names, but I can’t do it!  Manners have gotten me a long way.  RESPONSIBILITY and INDEPENDENCE have also been taught heavily to us.  You are always preparing us for the real world.  I appreciate the appreciation that you show us.  Lastly, but not least, HONESTY is a huge life skill that you have taught me and my sister.  It can be one of the hardest things to be sometimes, but it does show people your good character when you’re honest.  All I can say is “THANK YOU” and “I LOVE YOU!”

TEENAGE DAUGHTER’S LIST:

“List of Lessons”

*The importance of sisterhood;  *The importance of friendship;  *How to carry ourselves as young ladies;  *Confidence (always being sure of ourselves);  *Honesty;  *How to set goals and have high standards for ourselves;  *How a lady should/shouldn’t be treated by a man;  *Independence;  *The importance of faith in GOD;  *How to clean and take care of a home for when we move away;  *The importance of personal hygiene;  *How family always comes first!;  *Reputation (what you want others to know/say about you);  *Appearance and how to keep it intact;  *The importance of standing up for yourself and what you believe in.

Before I read them, I stuffed them in my purse so that I could read them while I was waiting for a friend for lunch.  While sitting at a stop light, I pulled them out and started to read.  They were so beautiful and moving that I pulled my car over to the side of the road and cried.  They were tears of pure joy that 1) their lists were pretty similar and 2) I was proud that what they put on paper coincided perfectly with what I had written in “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE…”.  Still sitting on the side of that road, I called my grandmother and read the lists to her.  She said “Yep, that’s what you taught them and that’s why they are the way they are.”  I know this is not Twitter but would anyone mind if  I  #GRATEFUL and #BLESSED?  And I must quote the very first line from my book:  The Bible (Proverbs 22:6) says : TRAIN UP A CHILD IN THE WAY HE SHOULD GO;  EVEN WHEN HE IS OLD HE WILL NOT DEPART FROM IT.”

My latest project is a novel called “Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend” and is due to release in August, 2013.   It is the total opposite of my first book, BUT,  I’m still writing about daughters!  I simply adore them!  The main character in “Daydream’s Daughter…” starts out like my daughters, but due to circumstances and situations stemming from her home life and teenage years, she turns into a different kind of daughter.  I’m not so good at NOT giving spoilers so I will leave you with the link to read an excerpt from “Daydream’s Daughter...”

I have really enjoyed sharing a little of  my precious Angel Daughters with you all today.  I wish for everyone to be able to experience what I have in raising these two.  They are truly as close to perfection as can get.  They both woke up yesterday morning and came downstairs at the same time and walked over to kiss me, as is the norm in our home.  I looked at them and could not hold it in, I said “You two are the best babies in the whole wide world.  Thank you, Jesus!” They both smiled and said “Thank you” simultaneously.

If you would like to know how  you too can raise an (almost) perfect daughter, pick up your copy of “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE…” ebook version OR paperback edition.  I am told it makes a great “baby shower” gift as well as a great “new mommy” gift.  I tend to think of it having a bit more power.  I am going so far as to say that this little book can change the world.  Which is why it is now my personal mission to get it into every school district, every day care center, every library and bookstore so that EVERY adult who has been blessed with rearing or teaching a child has the blueprint for how to do it right, at their fingertips.  Long gone are the days of little girls pretty in pink who loved to play with Barbie.  Now they  choose to wear saggy pants and tattoos just like the boys… and their toys of choice, guns and knives.  THIS HAS TO END because it is not the world I’d like to leave for my daughters and I cannot believe it’s the one you’d want to leave for yours.  That is why I’m asking you to please share this post with your friends and family, so that we may get the word out and work together to save our children.  And they really are ALL our children.

I’m wrapping up now but if you have enjoyed your time here, please don’t leave without FOLLOWING my blog.  You may also FOLLOW me on Twitter @nonniejules and on Facebook.

Thanks again for stopping by and remember, if you keep reading it, I will surely keep writing it!

Leave a Reply

