WHY I WRITE ABOUT DAUGHTERS AND A BETTER WORLD…

Recently, a fellow author friend on Twitter brought to my attention a conversation that was taking place regarding my book “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS.”  This conversation/debate was started on some online forum where a bunch of “obvious” kids/young adults seem to gather.  There were naysayers of the title of my book and the content of my book (which ALL the comments that I viewed said “they had not read it”, “would never, ever read it”,   and  “have no desire to read it”,  because they were upset that  in my introduction I spoke of my daughter’s age and the fact that she still had her virginity).  Really children, what I write about, that which you’ve never even read, is that upsetting to you?  Come on.

I found this to be very amusing that they had much to say about a book they HAD NEVER EVEN READ!  But what began as entertainment for me, quickly turned to sadness as another young lady who had been given my book by her aunt came on and engaged in the conversation.  The leader of the naysayers and her little “clique” quickly began demeaning this young lady because she defended my book, which she had ACTUALLY READ!  The language that was used, the attacks, the viciousness of those attacks all could have easily been classified as “bullying.”  We’ve all heard this word before, right?  It’s not new.  I mean it’s just a simple little thing that’s causing our kids to hang themselves, cut themselves, KILL THEMSELVES!  Sorry, but it is a really big deal to me and I think it’s time it turned into a really big deal for everyone!  And although I wasn’t bothered by the comments of these “children” (no matter their ages, when you act like a child, I will treat and refer to you as such), it was very sad to see how they attacked this young, teenage reader of my book, who stated that she had enjoyed it, gladly gave it a 5 star rating and had learned  quite a lot from it.  YOU WOULD NEVER, EVER SEE MY DAUGHTERS INVOLVED OR ENGAGING IN ANY SUCH BEHAVIOR ANYWHERE!

In my book trailer for “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS”  I said… “I looked around the world and what I saw, I knew I didn’t want my daughters to become.” These rude, vile, cruel people on this site were the kinds of people I was referring to.  Because someone entered their circle (an open, online discussion) and DARED to disagree with their ring leader (almost cult like), they attack, berate, ridicule and the list could go on, but none of their comments or actions  are worth me spending that much time on.  Because of these KIND of  “children” (young adults or whoever it is behaving like a child), I wrote this book, hoping that a lot more parents would be interested in raising (almost) perfect daughters instead of the BULLIES I see almost daily… online, in the news, in the paper, in the streets.  It’s time we stepped up and did a better job in rearing our children.

This is the reason that we as parents, adults, guardians, teachers, etc….anyone who has charge of a child for even a milli-second, should be spending time trying to teach LOVE, RESPECT, KINDNESS, MANNERS & ACCEPTANCE.  It’s truly OK that we are all different.  It’s a grand thing that we all have different minds and that we have, and do form our own opinions.  This is what makes our world go round.  NO two people are alike, and we should spend a little more time teaching our children to respect differences in others.  Some parents will argue… “But I didn’t teach them that!” Well, maybe you didn’t, but somewhere, you should have noticed this behavior and re-directed it in a more positive direction.  Parents, we are to blame for some of this, so let’s own it.  But, the good thing about that is… I truly  believe that it is never too late to turn it around.  If they are still children, re-direct positively whenever you can and if  they are adults, PRAY AND PRAY AND PRAY some more.  Prayer will fix it every time!  Now, let me share something with you all because I know you often hear me speak of “prayer” “My GOD”, “blessings” and the like in my writings.  I’m not what you would call a really spiritual person, and I don’t live in church every Sunday, either.  BUT,  that being said, I do believe in my heart that there is GOD!  I believe in miracles, angels, blessings, etc., and it is my choice to do so.  But just as I respect others in their beliefs, whether they’re aligned with mine or not,  I expect others to respect mine as well.

@RaOdum posted a blog recently entitled “HARASSMENT ONLINE:  NOT JUST FOR TEENS”.  I would ask that you all pop over to read it as it is aligned with this blog discussion.

So there you have it…..this is why I continue to write about Daughters and making a better world.  My daughters turned out so wonderfully, I thought “what if there were more just like them?  What a wonderful world that would be!”  “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS” was born out of me wanting to leave a legacy of a better world for my daughters, for our daughters, for ALL children!  We can stop bullying and harassment of others.

Just last week, 22 copies of “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE…” went into a Barnes & Noble Booksellers store.  Today I get a call from the manager letting me know that they are down to 3 copies and they have already placed an order for more!  What does that tell you?  On Wednesday, I stood in Barnes & Noble and WATCHED as customers purchased my book!  It’s an awesome feeling knowing first, that your book made it onto the shelves (and the information counter) of Barnes & Noble, it’s another thing to watch people pick it up, browse it and then purchase it, but it’s a grand thing when you know that a book such as this, with the potential to POSITIVELY affect the world as we know it, is getting into the hands of the masses.  Have you gotten ur copy already?  You say you’re not a parent?    You say your kids are all grown?  That’s OK, GIFT someone!  They will thank you so much for it and the world will thank you by turning out a new generation of SUPERBLY AWESOME people.  (I also hear the tips in this guide work just as well on sons, too).

Before I go, let me leave you with a little plea:  Let’s all work together to make this world a better place.  There is nothing we can’t do, if we all work together to make it happen!  Peace & blessings to all of you.

Get your copy of “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS” 100 Tips On Raising Daughters Everyone Can’t Help But Love! @ Createspace, Amazon & B&N.  If you would like a personal autograph copy, you may get it here at BOOKS BY NONNIE.

Thanks for stopping by but before you leave, why don’t you share your similar experiences below.  We’d love to hear from you.

4 Comments

  1. 22 copies of “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE…” went into a Barnes & Noble Booksellers store? That’s so awesome! And then you got a call from the manager for more books because they were down to only three? Why am I not surprised? Write a great book and the readers will come. Congratulations from this book blogger who was raised in a family with three daughters (and no brothers) and who is raising two daughters (and two sons).

    Like

  2. No book will ever please everyone, though it boggles my mind why people want to put energy into attacking a book they’ve not read. It’s best to find the right audience for your book, and you are doing just that.

    Like

  3. This saddens me to hear all the negative comments and the misdirection of those same feelings to someone who has as much right defending the book as they have not liking the book. The fact that Barnes & Noble is selling them so quickly says a lot for the book and parents wanting to focus on the raising of their children.

    Like

    • It is very sad to hear, Kathryn. I often WISH “If only” ……1) people took the time to raise their kids better, 2) people taught their children to be more tolerant, 3) people focused more on the positive and not the negative. What a wonderful world this would be! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

