DO YOU LOVE CHILDREN?

I do!  I am a strong believer that we were all put here on this earth for a purpose, and one day it finally dawned on me after becoming a Mommy,  that mine was to be a PROTECTOR and ADVOCATE for children.  Yes, WE ALL HAVE PURPOSE!  I know sometimes when you turn on the news and you hear stories of pedophiles doing awful things to little 3 year old girls, it’s hard to believe that they were put here for anything other than to take up space, but in those times, we must believe that maybe they lost their way and missed out on fulfilling that positive purpose they were destined for.

We live in a world filled with ugly, evil, hatred, and pain, and unfortunately, love and kindness pale in comparison.  I wish I could say that I see more love than hatred, more kindness than rudeness, more good than bad and more beauty than ugly, but I can’t, because I don’t.   And I will not ever be able to say that until we as parents, guardians, adults do our part to ensure that the world left behind for all children is a much better, safer one than the one we reside in now.

Some of you might be reading this thinking “What does this have to do with me?  I have good kids?” Well, if you have “good” kids that’s even more reason to ensure that the world is filled with more “good” kids just like them.  I have two GREAT kids, and I know that I am relentless in getting the word out about raising better kids because I don’t want the “bad apples” of this world causing harm to mine, or to any other kids for that matter.  We must do MORE.  We must teach MORE.  We must SHOW more.

DO MORE = We need to step out there on that thin, weak limb when we know that a child needs us, even if only to offer a shoulder or an ear.

TEACH MORE = Every opportunity that you are given to be in the presence of a child, should be a teaching opportunity for you and a learning one for that child.  Whether it’s correcting a bad word, a nasty gesture or just imparting words of wisdom that the child will carry with them forever, teach every opportunity you are presented with.

SHOW MORE = Children (and not just our own) need us to lead by example.  They need us to SHOW them how to behave, SHOW them how to react to rudeness, SHOW them how to handle the stresses of life.  They watch us very closely, whether we are aware of it or not.  And boy, do they listen.  Ensure that what your child, or any child who’s in your presence sees or hears coming from you, is always POSITIVE.  ALWAYS!

I know that people who are hurt or damaged, tend to raise kids who are hurt and damaged.  Hurt people, hurt people.  Did you get that?  People who are hurt, go out and hurt other people!  We must and we CAN stop this cycle.  But, we must be willing to show up and do the work, instead of just calling it in.

Don’t be one of those people who sit on the sidelines and criticize the bad that you see kids do.  Be one of those people who jump right in to help better that child, even though you’re not their parent.  There are many things that we can do.  And right now, I’d like to introduce you to the continuation of MY MISSION to change the world and make it a better place for all children.  I call it…DAB! And I invite you to join me at NONNIE’S BOOK STORE to learn more about it.

Thanks so much for your time and I’d like to hear from you.  What are you doing to make this world better for our kids?  What will your legacy be?  COMMENTS ENCOURAGED!

3 Comments

  1. This is a great initiative and I truly hope you reach your goal. I am unfortunately, not in a position to be able to help this year as finances are particularly tight for me over here in the Uk. I would definitely like to be kept up to date with your progress though. Keep the good work going Nonnie.

    Like

  2. Well done Nonnie…well done.

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Melanie! Greatly appreciated.

      Like

Leave a Reply

