YOU’RE GONNA HEAR ME ROAR…….!

English: Katy Perry at the 2011 Logie Awards

English: Katy Perry at the 2011 Logie Awards (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“I used to bite my tongue and hold my breath.  Scared to rock the boat and make a mess.  So I sat quietly.  Agreed politely. I guess that I forgot I had a choice.  I let you push me past the breaking point.  I stood for nothing, so I fell for everything.  You held me down, but I got up, already brushing off the dust.  Hear my voice, hear that sound, like thunder gonna shake your ground.  You held me down, but I got up, get ready cause I’ve had enough.  I see it all, I see it now…I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing thru the fire, cuz’ I am a Champion, and you’re gonna hear me roar.  Louder, louder than a lion, cuz I am a Champion and you’re gonna hear me roarrrrrrrrrrrr!”

If you haven’t heard Katy Perry’s “Roar” by now, I’m going to go out on a limb and say that you’ve probably been living under a rock.  The FIRST time I heard this song, it was automatically my new theme song! (I keep one of those handy because every GREAT LADY needs one).  I like Katy Perry’s music because it’s always empowering, uplifting and downright ‘in your face, gonna tell it like it is’.  I love that about her, and all truth be told, I admire that in anyone.  But, this blog is not about Katy Perry.  It’s about Leah Remini‘s contemporary dance routine on DANCING WITH THE STARS to this song.

Again, if you guys don’t know what’s been going on with Leah, you’ve been living under a HUGE rock.  This whole Scientology thing is really blowing my mind.  I don’t know much about it (heck, aside from hearing it associated with a few celebrities like Tom Cruise, Will Smith, etc., I really don’t know anything about it.  And honestly, I don’t care to know anything about it.  So, what I’m about to speak on, are in very general terms).  Hearing Leah’s  story really made me think  (and by the way, I like Leah because she’s sort of like me:  straightforward, brutally honest and a pretty tough cookie).  But, my concern is this…are we still living in a world where our beliefs, albeit religious, political, or otherwise, are dictated to us by others who are deemed HIGHER, MIGHTIER and more SUPERIOR than we are?  And I’m not with any entity that  dictates to others who they are allowed to socialize with, be friends with and love.

Anytime I engage in a conversation or debate with someone, the one thing I NEVER do is try to make my opinion someone elses.  That’s because, we all have our own opinions and we are ALL entitled to them.  We won’t always agree with others’ thoughts, their feelings, their ways of living…that’s bound to happen at times, but people have choices and we should not condemn others for choosing their OWN paths (unless they are hurting others, of course).

Leah, although self-admittedly not a dancer, made a very bold statement in this dance routine, to this particular tune and I personally am very proud of her.  (If you haven’t seen it, just head to Youtube.com to find it).  She starts off portraying herself as a puppet on someone’s strings and then, when she made the very bold move to break away, tears started to form in my eyes.

I have written this to say one thing (and guys, you know me, that one thing will probably turn into multiple things)… but, live YOUR life the way you see fit.  Don’t be someone’s puppet.  If there are strings attached to your person, let you be the one pulling them.  Don’t let others dictate what you should say, who you can see, what you should eat and who you can love.  Always be true to you.  I know people just like the one described in Katy’s song.  They sit quietly, not quite sure if they have a voice and unaware that they should use it.  I know people who are agreeable to everyone and everything.  These people don’t want to rock any boats, and they don’t feel as if they have any choices or wants.  You hear them say things like:  “Whatever YOU want to do.” “Wherever YOU want to go.” Whatever YOU want to eat, is fine with me.”  These people may be very kind and sweet, but they need to realize that life is filled with many choices and those choices are not reserved for a select few.

Leah Remini‘s dance to that song was very powerful.  She felt, that through her religion she had been held down, forced to behave in a certain manner and well, stifled.  Kudos to her for realizing that what she had been taught to believe her entire life, was not conducive to the positive manner in which she WANTED to live and it was not in line with what she wanted to teach her daughter.  Any mom considering their children in their life decisions, is a great mom in my eyes.

So Leah and Katy, excuse me if  I’m a bit loud…..but the world IS GONNA HEAR ME CONTINUE TO ROARRRRRRRR!

What do you think about Leah’s stand against Scientology?

2 Comments

  1. We are SOOOO going to become friends! 🙂 I LOVE KATY. Prism is on constantly in my car right now. I about fell over the first time I heard Legendary Lovers, because it is PERFECT for my current W.I.P. “Under a Mayan Moon.” So glad to find someone who isn’t afraid to speak her mind, even if it might “rock the boat.” Sometimes the boat is sinking but no one wants to speak up. If we aren’t careful, our whole society will drown in the name of being politically correct.

    Look forward to more from you 🙂

    Like

  2. YES YES AND YES!!!! I am in love with this song as well. I’ve actually read quite a bit about Scientology and it’s about bullying its members into doing what the leaders think is best but there are a lot of churches and religions like that.
    Anyway I just told my kids this was my theme song so your post got an Amen Sister from me 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

