What In The World Are You Retweeting?!!!

Hello all!  Today is your lucky day! (again).  You get to hear me “rant” (albeit just a little)  about what you guys retweet.  Although this thought had been in my head for quite some time, two people popped up last week and said to ME: @nonniejules It’s nice that people RT and all, but these guys need to RT stuff regarding our books. That’s why we’re here, right? I mean, does the world really need to know that my other Twitter friend said “Good morning?”   (These two tweets were combined).

I often speak about SUPPORT and how important it is to show support of your peers/colleagues/friends, whatever you want to call them, but, it’s also very important that you show that support in a mindful manner.  To me, that means a couple of things:

1)  When one of your Twitter friends has shared a link, or has posted something on your FB wall, take the time to actually click on that link and read what is being shared BEFORE you send it out into your neck of the world.  This is for a few reasons:  a) it might be something that goes against everything you believe in.  What if Hitler has been re-incarnated and he has started a campaign to incite more hatred?  Is that really something that you want to spread around, or is that something you’d be more apt to stifle?  b) When people share something with you asking for your support, they’re not only asking you to spread the word, they are probably asking for YOUR support personally, and c) That link just might be something you’re really interested in or the information you were really seeking earlier.  Go figure!

If someone has retweeted or favorited  something of mine, I click on their handle, read their Twitter bio at the top to see what they’re all about, then from there, I decide if I’d like to follow them or just go ahead and reciprocate the support with a retweet.  And just in case you’re wondering, “NO,” I don’t follow EVERYBODY.  I’m not one of those who’s trying to rack up my Twitter Followers number.  For instance, I recently came across a bio that read “I HATE OBAMA!” Well, obviously I chose to NOT FOLLOW that person.  Not because they don’t like Obama, that is certainly their choice.  But, because I like Obama (he’s pretty cute and charming), I don’t necessarily want that person’s negative feel about him on my timeline.  I don’t care to see it.   And, THAT IS MY CHOICE!

2)  When you go to RT someone (now this is very important), TAKE THE TIME to actually skim their timeline and RT or SHARE “something of substance.”  Yes, they may have posted a picture of the steak they had for lunch, but that doesn’t mean they necessarily want the whole world in on it.  Maybe it is for their spouse who is on the other side of the world at the moment and sharing what they ate, makes them feel closer to one another.  But, seriously, do WE really need to RT that unless they ask?  NO, we don’t.

3) Lastly, here is the BIG one.  When I go to tweet or RT something from another’s timeline, and I have to scroll through a million RTs that they’ve done of others (although this IS admirable and probably will get you the monthly INDIE AUTHOR ON THE MOVE award), you know what I end up doing?  I pop out of their timeline, and simply tweet to them, “THANKS!”

I have made it known that when someone retweets me, I say THANK YOU by retweeting them.  Twitter only allots a certain number of tweets per day, and I like to use mine wisely, which is why you will never see me carrying on a full-fledged, lengthy conversation with someone via Twitter.  That’s what email is for.

So, here is where you can help those who are perusing your timeline looking for something of substance to retweet on your behalf.  For every 4 retweets (or even SHARES on FB) that you do for someone else, tweet something of yours that you would like retweeted.  That’s exactly what I do! 4 or 5 for them, 1 or 2 for me, then repeat!

I never want someone wasting their precious limited number of Twitter allotments by just saying THANK YOU to me!  So, if that’s your approach as well, then please make it easy for someone to support you properly.

I’m going to wrap this rant up here.  It wasn’t that bad, now was it?  But, seriously, if you take only one thing away from this post please let it be this:  WHEN YOU RETWEET SOMEONE, TAKE THE TIME TO SKIM FOR THAT TWEET OF SUBSTANCE.  Take the time to seek out that tweet that will encourage someone else to check out an author’s book or blog, listen to a musician’s music, or purchase a masterpiece created by the hands of a starving artist! We’re all starving artists, aren’t we?  So, let’s take the time to feed each other (SUPPORT) in the most beneficial way possible.

Don’t make me have to pop up here again and ask: “WHAT IN THE WORLD ARE YOU RETWEETING?”

What’s your retweeting formula?  Do you have one?  We’d all love to hear about it!

20 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Shirley McLain and commented:
    This is a great rant and I think it should be reblogged for the simple reason it has good information. It was originally written in 2013 by Nonnie Jules, but as the saying goes “it’s timeless.”

    Like

  2. Shirley Harris-Slaughter

    Reblogged this on shirleyharris-slaughter and commented:
    This is something worth sharing. Thank you.

    Like

  3. Shirley Harris-Slaughter

    Nonnie this is some really good information. We can never know too much when it comes to tweeting.

    Like

  4. A very good lesson. I will bear that in mind, especially twitting about myself when I twit about others. I never do that. 🙂

    Like

  5. Hi Nonnie, like John Howell, I viewed this post as good advice. I have only retweeted a few authors because they were ones I have read/reviewed, so I knew what sort of book I was supporting. I’m sure that I am ignoring many excellent books/authors, but as time allows, I shall add them to my RT list.
    Thank you for taking the time to give us this useful information!

    Like

  6. mitziflyte

    Reblogged this on Mitzi Flyte and commented:
    Thanks for this repeat, Nonnie. I’m learning the ins and outs of this as I go along. Most of my tweets and FB posts are informative, information I think writers of my ilk would like. I do get about five retweets and FB shares a day. I think that’s pretty good for an old lady who on the periphery of social media.
    Thanks again and reblogging.

    Like

  7. VERY GOOD ADVICE. I did not take this as a rant but wise advice and a reminder to check out what a person is willing to support. Thanks.

    Like

  8. Reblogged this on Michaelphelps1's Blog and commented:
    MORE ADVICE FROM NONNIE JULES OF RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLKUB ABOUT RE-TWEETING! USEFUL INFORMATION FOR ALL WARITERS & READERS.

    Like

  9. And btw, I was completely a Facebook person until I joined RRBC. I’ve had a Twitter account since 2011, but I had about 50 tweets and 1 favorites until I joined RRBC in April. I would forget about Twitter. Since April (less than three months), I now have over 10K tweets and almost 2K favorites. I like to make out my tweets ahead of time and I save them in a text file. I copy and paste into the twitter box. It’s amazing to me how one will fit one time but then the next time it’s over the character count. I also had about 500 I was following and less than that who were following me. I’m not following 1700 and have 1223 following me. At some point I hope to have more following me than I am following.

    Like

  10. My routine is to tweet RRBC’s BOM, MOM, Spotlight, MOW, etc., then I tweet my day’s list according to what day it is (if I don’t fall asleep early right after dinner and if I do fall asleep, I tweet two days list the next day), then I tweet my own tweets, then I RT. I have told others that RTing me is thanks enough and no need to thank me but some still do. So then I feel bad if I don’t thank others. I don’t thank them for RTs but if they go out of their way to tweet me first then I do thank them. I have ran out of daily allowable tweets twice. I try to go back twenty-four hours to make sure I RT what has been tweeted but sometimes I get sidetracked or fall asleep or there has just been so much that day. It has become a source of procrastination for me so I have to what it.

    Like

  11. Reblogged this on Kim's Author Support Page and commented:
    Love this.

    Like

  12. Reblogged this on Rave Reviews by Nonnie Jules.

    Like

  13. I don’t have a formula. As a matter of fact I’m almost completely twitter illiterate. I didn’t know there were a limited amount of tweets which is okay because I forget to check twitter anyway. I’m going to have to rethink my Twitter activity.

    Like

    • I obviously need to rethink my WP profile as well considering I just published that under the wrong profile. Oops.

      Like

  14. Titles also count for a lot too. I try not to retweet posts that have horrible titles just because of the clickability factor. Since joining Triberr, I’ve really become aware of how bland and uninformative many titles of blog posts can be.

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by! Seems people learn a lot from belonging to those tribes at Triberr. I need to get with some of them quickly. 🙂

      Like

  15. Shirley Harris-Slaughter

    Appreciate the lesson on retweets.

    Like

    • Mrs. Slaughter, you are most welcome 🙂

      Like

  16. I love it when you rant, Nonnie, you do it with such style, and you are always entertaining! You make a lot of wise points. I’ve always assumed that my retweeting someone’s tweets is taken as a thank you for retweeting mine, so I don’t expect a thank you too. I have noticed a lot of people spend a whole lot of time sending out thank you’s. If I personally thanked everyone who retweeted me then I would never have time to retweet them and I’m sure they’d prefer the latter. I do thank personally when someone takes the time to give me a special mention or shout out, though, because it means a lot and I like to show my appreciation.
    I guess everyone has their own way of doing things but I think there is a lot to be learned from those who are more experienced with Twitter. I’ve only been using social media for about 9 months and I’ve learned a lot since starting out but am still learning. I’m certainly more cautious now about who I follow back and what I am retweeting.
    But when I have time, I do love conversing with people on Twitter. I’ve met a lot of interesting people I would never have met otherwise!
    It’s hard to be objective about one’s own retweeting habits, so do keep me posted if you catch me doing something particularly annoying or stupid!
    I hope your new novel does splendidly well, Nonnie.

    Like

    • Jenny, I am also new to Twitter, but isn’t it amazing how people perceive u as being more knowledgeable about something? I’ve only been on Twitter for about 6 months, but you don’t need years of experience to pick up on things (unlike me and Facebook….I need a personal tutor for that one). And like you, sometimes I do take the time to respond to those direct tweets that require that special attention, otherwise I think folks pretty much appreciate that “plug” you may give. But, we all learn something new everyday, don’t we? And we definitely all have certain styles, I guess. And there is no way you could ever do anything stupid on there, are you kidding me? Thanks for enjoying my rants and thanks for all the support u constantly give to me! U are appreciated!

      Like

Leave a Reply

