WNW WELCOMES DANICA CORNELL, SCI-FI AUTHOR AND GREAT FRIEND!

Why for Me, Science Fiction + Social Responsibility = UNICEF

 

By Danica Cornell

Danica Cornell image

I would like to extend my sincere thanks to the lovely and talented, NONIE Jules, for inviting me here today.  Nonnie, it truly is an honor to spend this time with you and your readers, and I’m very much looking forward to featuring you on my blog as well.

A few weeks ago, a dear friend of mine asked, “Why are you supporting UNICEF?  You’re a science fiction writer—I just don’t see the connection.”  At the time, I was glad he brought this up because it occurred to me that if he was unclear about this, then others probably were as well.

As it turns out, I initially shared my views regarding my own social responsibilities in my 2013 blog post, How One Writer Hopes to Shape a Better World For All of Us—One Word at a Time.  It was here that I outlined my primary goal as a writer is to entertain readers by transporting them deep into unknown times, unknown worlds, and unknown conflicts.  However, I also acknowledged that the genre of science fiction offers another, perhaps even more alluring opportunity for authors.  It allows us to awaken a slumbering global consciousness by opening a dialogue about the possible impacts today’s innovations could have on tomorrow’s civilization.  For many, the question, “Are we on the right path?” is as complex as it is compelling.  As both a producer and consumer of science fiction, I’ve found exploring challenging societal issues—especially those created through the forward movement of science and technology, to be especially thought-provoking.

Still, the hidden messages my books convey, represent only the beginning of my social responsibilities as an author.  The second piece, at least from my perspective, has to do with children.  The way I see it, children are the future.  Sure, there will be robots and all sorts of gadgets and gizmos in every conceivable geometric configuration—many of these will undoubtedly emerge from tomorrow’s 3-D printers, just as popcorn does from today’s microwave ovens.  But there’s no denying it will be today’s children who will actually lead all of us deeper into the 21st century.  It’s because of this, that I’m pledging to donate a portion of the proceeds from my ground-breaking novel, DARK STAR I: The Assassins to the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF).  Why?  To answer my friend’s question, I’m doing this in the hopes that some of the young people who benefit from this organization’s work, will turn around and help others later on, thus creating a better future for all of humanity…one child at a time.

For those of you unfamiliar with UNICEF, their focus areas include:  child survival and development; basic education and gender equality; HIV/AIDS and children; child protection; policy advocacy and partnerships.  Each and every one of these areas are vitally important, but the two areas nearest and dearest to my heart include child protection and gender equality.

There are a myriad of ways in which children around the world are in need of protection.  The list is seemingly endless and includes such things as protection from violence; sexual abuse and exploitation; trafficking; gender-based violence; gang violence; and child marriage, just to name a few.  Much of today’s child protection issues overlap with basic education and gender equality—something many of us are becoming more aware of due to the young female Pakistani student, Malala Yousafzai’s, amazing story of survival after having been brutally shot by the Taliban in 2012.  To be clear, the work UNICEF does is varied and far-reaching.  The fact that they’re an organization dedicated to addressing children’s issues means that they are helping to shape the future—something I care deeply about, especially given the fact that I myself am a mother. 

Before I sign off, I’d like to encourage those of you who frequent Twitter to consider tweeting #ENDviolence whenever you have the opportunity.  By joining together and raising awareness and support for UNICEF’s mission, we can help to forge a brighter future for today’s most vulnerable children.  Please lend your voice to those who unable to speak on their own behalf.  Let’s help UNICEF shape a better tomorrow…one child at a time.

Until next time… 

Happy reading!

Danica  

Danica Cornell holds a B.A. in Psychology.  She is a visionary entrepreneur, self-confessed chocoholic, and UNICEF supporter who’s busy penning the DARK STAR Science Fiction/Fantasy Series, soon to be published by Cool Geek Books.

Connect with Danica:

Website:  www.danicacornell.com

WordPress Blog:  http://danica-cornell.com/ 

FB Author Page www.facebook.com/AuthorDanicaCornell  

Twitter https://twitter.com/danicacornell

You Tube http://www.youtube.com/user/DanicaCornellChannel

Google + https://plus.google.com/+DanicaCornell/

 

To Learn More About UNICEF, please visit http://www.unicef.org/about/ 

12 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on allergictolifemybattle and commented:
    Danica is a member of Rave Reviews Book Club and I am happy to share this blog post.

    Like

  2. Nonnie, Thank You so very much for having me on your blog. I am truly honored!!! ((Hugs))! 🙂

    Like

  3. jgrwriter

    Way to go, Danica!

    Like

  4. Thank you, Nonnie, for hosting Danica. Danica: As a woman who grew up in the 50s and 60s, I observed the changes in gender equality that occurred as a result of the efforts of women writers and advocates for change. I lived through times where women were asked about their plans to marry and have children during job interviews, something that doesn’t happen today under the new employment practices in our country. We all know, too, about the fight for equal pay. Sadly, I, too, experienced abuse as a child, luckily for me at the hands of a stranger and not at home. So many children, however, are abused at home or are prevented from going to school because of mores imposed by restrictive cultures. We all need to support organizations that work to protect children and their rights as human beings to freedom and education. I admire your contributions to this important organization for children. Blessings, Jennie Sherwin

    Like

    • Hi Jennie, Thank you for your comments. Oh how I can relate to much of what you’ve said here! Children can’t really protect themselves, so it’s up to all of us to look out for their best interests though programs, policies, and laws (which need to be enforced). Equal access to education is vitally important, but safety at home, in the community, and in schools are paramount to making this a reality. By the way, so happy you’re part of the Rave Reviews Family! Best wishes to you, Danica 🙂

      Like

  5. Well done Danica for this excellent post but more importantly for supporting such a noble charity organization. You are absolutely right – the children are the future! Here’s to an enlightened, emotionally balanced and spiritually heightened new generation! May your contributions and your writing play an important role in shaping to this purpose many of these children’s lives!

    Like

    • Hi Effrosyni, Thank you my dear for your comments. This generation coming up seems so wise in so many ways…but for those who are disenfranchised…for those who are at-risk for abuse, neglect, and exploitation…it’s those children who need the most support. UNICEF is an amazing organization. Raising awareness for the tough issues they are taking on, feels like the right thing to do. ((Hugs)) to you my friend! 🙂

      Like

  6. Shirley L. Slaughter

    How nice that you are taking on such a worthwhile project. I admire you for stepping out and taking this on. Our children are our precious commodity. I mentored four freshmen girls in my community. There is such a need for anything that will support our children. I checked out your website. Is he book out yet? You are the best Danica.

    Like

    • Hi Shirley, It’s so lovely to see you here…and to talk about this with you! I’m not at all surprised to learn you mentored four young ladies in your own community…Bravo! You’re such a warm and caring person!! Yes, our children truly do need us…whether it’s here in the U.S. or on the other side of the globe. Abuse, neglect, and exploitation know no boundaries. Sometimes it’s just sitting and listening to them…maybe playing catch or taking a child out for ice cream. Sometimes it’s about changing and enforcing laws. If everyone pitched in and did just a little something, imagine how different things might be. And to answer your question, no the book isn’t out just yet…but it’s very close!! ((Hugs)) to you my friend! 🙂

      Like

  7. Danica – What a wonderful organization to be a part of. Thank you for sharing your connection with UNICEF and your writing. I can’t wait to read your work.

    Like

    • Hi Kathryn, Oh my goodness…it’s wonderful to see you here! I truly appreciate your comments…and I can honestly say I’m looking forward to read your book as well. Best wishes to you my dear! xoxo 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

