Rave Reviews Book Club’s 3rd “SPOTLIGHT” Author, MARGO BOND COLLINS Stops By!

We tend to host some of the most fabulous authors and artists here at WATCH NONNIE WRITE! and today is no different. MARGO BOND COLLINS author of the newly released “Fairy Texas” and “Waking Up Dead” (isn’t that an awesome title?) is joining us here today for an informative, enlightening and fun Q & A session. Sit back, prop up your feet and enjoy the company of the effervescent “MBC”…

Image

When did you start writing? What has your writing life been like?

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been making up stories. The first story I remember actually writing down was basically fan-fiction of The Wizard of Oz. I wrote it in long-hand in a yellow legal pad. I’ve been writing ever since. But about ten years ago, a friend suggested I join in National Novel Writing Month (nanowrimo.org). Until then, I had always written short stories. That year, I finished the first draft of what would eventually become Legally Undead—it will be my third published novel, but it’s the first one I wrote.

 

I ended up as an English major in college because I was fascinated by the ways stories work. And then I went on to graduate school because I couldn’t figure out what else to do. I ended up with a Ph.D. in literature almost by accident; I just never quit wanting to learn about all the stories in the world!

 

So now I teach literature and writing in my day job, and the rest of the time, I write, both as a fiction author and as an academic.

 

 What gave you the idea for this book?

Many (most, really) of my ideas come to me while I’m driving. In this case, I was driving through rural Texas near where I grew up and passed the sign for the cut-off to the town Fairy, Texas. I must have driven by the sign hundreds of times in my life, but this time I started wondering what it would be like if the town were actually occupied by fairy-like creatures—not exactly European fairies, but a race that could intermingle with the humans of our own world.  The book developed from there!

How often do you write, and how much?

I write something every day, whether it’s academic writing, fiction, or my blog. I’ve recently started making sure that no matter what else I may be writing, I write something fictional every single day. “How much” varies. I aim for a minimum of 500 words a day—my average word-count for thirty minutes of writing. I generally write more than that, but sometimes I don’t quite reach it. Last night, for example, I managed to write one sentence just before I fell into bed. But I made sure to get that one sentence down so I could continue to claim that I write every single day!

Which authors do you admire and why?

Too many to count! Because I’m a literature professor, I have piles and piles of favorite authors. Right now, though, I’m particularly fond of Neil Gaiman, Robin McKinley, Holly Black, Ann Aguirre, and Melanie Karsak. What I love about all of them is their ability to create such realistic worlds, to draw me in and keep me interested in the stories they spin out.

 

Where do you write and what do you use: PC, laptop or MAC?

I have an office that I use for all my work: academic writing, fiction writing, editing, and online teaching. My desk is against a window so I can see outside. I’m surrounded by books and papers. I write directly on my laptop, but when I get stuck, I sometimes switch to handwriting; this seems to shift my brain onto a different track and helps me get over writer’s block.

What are you working on at the moment?

Piles of projects! I’m currently doing a round of edits to Legally Undead, the first of the Vampirarchy urban fantasy series coming out from World Weaver Press in 2014. I’m working on the sequels to Fairy, Texas, Waking Up Dead and Legally Undead. I’m working on a contemporary romance novel. I’m editing a number of academic projects, too—mostly collections of essays about science fiction and fantasy televisions series like Farscape, The Vampire Diaries, and Supernatural. 

What are your writing goals for 2014?

Always keep writing! I have three works in progress that I plan to complete. And I also have two others that I want to get to. So I guess that means my goals are to finish five novels. (I’m suddenly realizing that I might be insane . . . )

Any advice for aspiring writers?

The very best advice I ever got was just this: keep writing new things. Always have a work in progress. Finish writing a piece, do a quick edit, and submit it somewhere for publication. Then move on to the next project. Don’t wait to hear back—that way lies madness! If it’s rejected (and often it will be; that’s the nature of writing for publication), don’t let it get you down. Just send it out again and go back to your work in progress.

MARGO’S QUESTIONS & ANSWERS for this site.  Be sure to play our Facebook Scavenger Hunt game where you could win prizes!  Click here for the FB link.

RRBC:  What is your impression of RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB so far?

MBC:  I am loving being a member of RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB!  I’m enjoying the interaction with other readers and writers!

RRBC:  RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB has a mission to help Indie Authors get reviews.  Why do you think reviews are so important to authors?

MBC:  Reviews sell books – even negative reviews can help a reader decide if my book is the right one for him or her at that moment.

 We’d like to thank Margo for stopping by on her lengthy tour to share a little of her “SPOTLIGHT” with us.  If you haven’t already, please check out Margo’s books!  And if you haven’t joined Rave Reviews Book Club, there’s a button to your right, just click it and you could be the next “SPOTLIGHT” Author!

_____________________________________________

 

Fairy, Texas Blurb:

Fairy, Texas. A small town like any other.

Laney Harris didn’t want to live there. When her mother remarried and moved them to a town where a date meant hanging out at the Sonic, Laney figured that “boring” would have a whole new meaning. A new stepsister who despised her and a high school where she was the only topic of gossip were bad enough. But when she met the school counselor (and his terminal bad breath), she grew suspicious. Especially since he had wings that only she could see. And then there were Josh and Mason, two gorgeous glimmering-eyed classmates whose interest in her might not be for the reasons she hoped. Not to mention that dead guy she nearly tripped over in gym class.

She was right. Boring took on an entirely new dimension in Fairy, Texas.

 

_____________________________________________

 

Buy Fairy, Texas

 

Amazon (Kindle): http://www.amazon.com/Fairy-Texas-Margo-Bond-Collins-ebook/dp/B00I7BTMJ4/

 

_____________________________________________

About the Author

Margo Bond Collins lives in Texas with her husband, their daughter, several spoiled cats, and a ridiculous turtle. She teaches college-level English courses online, though writing fiction is her first love. She enjoys reading urban fantasy and paranormal fiction of any genre and spends most of her free time daydreaming about vampires, ghosts, zombies, werewolves, and other monsters. Fairy, Texas is her second novel. Her first novel, Waking Up Dead, came out with Solstice Shadows Publishing in October 2013. Her third novel, Legally Undead, is an urban fantasy forthcoming in 2014 from World Weaver Press.

 

_____________________________________________

 

Connect with Margo

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/author/margobondcollins

Email: MargoBondCollins@gmail.com

Website: http://www.MargoBondCollins.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MargoBondCollin  @MargoBondCollin

Google+: https://plus.google.com/116484555448104519902

Goodreads Author Page: http://www.goodreads.com/vampirarchy

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/MargoBondCollins

Facebook Novel Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Waking-Up-Dead/502076076537575

Tumblr: http://vampirarchybooks.tumblr.com/

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/mbondcollins/

Be sure to add Waking Up Dead to your Goodreads bookshelves: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18428064-waking-up-dead

 

 

Be sure to add Fairy, Texas to your Goodreads bookshelves: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19502285-fairy-texas

14 Comments

  1. Congratulations Margo. Thank you for featuring Spotlight authors, Nonnie.

    Like

  2. Congratulations, Margo. I know you are enjoying your time in the spotlight. Your book sounds too interesting not to order. Another fan, Jennie

    Like

  3. Fairy, Texas’ blurb sounds like a good read. Congrats, Margo.

    Like

  4. Shondreka Palmer

    Nonnie, thank you for sharing Margo’s interview on your blog and supporting her spotlight! Congrats Margo on being Spotlight Author of the week! Job well done on your books!!

    Like

  5. Congrats Margo and thanks for hosting Nonnie.

    Like

  6. Hi Nonnie,

    Thanks for featuring Margo on your blog.

    Margo, I like your emphasis on the need for authors to keep writing, especially if they’re waiting to hear back from a submission. I’m glad to celebrate your spotlight-moment with you.

    Like

  7. Fantastic support network you’ve created for Indie authors! And I know it will only get better. 🙂
    Thanks for your vision, Nonnie. And best wishes to Margo for much success with her latest release, Fairy, Texas!

    Like

  8. Shirley L. Slaughter

    Margo Bond-Collins, Congratulations on being our Third Spotlight Author. Hope you are enjoying the ride.

    Like

  9. Congratulations, Margo, on this amazing honor!

    Like

  10. Reblogged this on Be My Guest and commented:
    I am excited to share Margo Bond Collins, Rave Reviews Book Club’s current Spotlight Author.

    Like

  11. Thanks Nonnie for your continued SUPPORT of indie Authors! Congratulations Margo on being the Rave Reviews Book Club SPOTLIGHT Author!

    Like

  12. Nonnie, it’s so wonderful of you to feature Margo on your lovely blog! Margo, congratulations on being being selected as RAVE REVIEWS’ Spotlight Author! Best wishes to you on your continued success! xoxo, Danica 🙂

    Like

  13. Thanks so much for hosting me, and for all the amazing work you’ve done with Rave Reviews Book Club!

    ~Margo

    Like

  14. Nonnie – Thank you for sharing so much about Margo and her writing. I am excited to read her books. Her titles draw me into want to learn more. Congratulations Margo for being chosen as Rave Reviews Book Club’s Spotlight Author. May you have an amazing week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

