Coming Soon: “CRAZY, HOT AND LIVING ON THE EDGE!”

For those of you who weren’t aware that I started my own publishing company back in November of 2013, I’d like to invite you all to stop by and check out the awesome SERVICES we offer and also to meet and show your support of our very talented Authors and Clients.  If you are an author yourself and would like a FREE book cover listing, simply FOLLOW our site while you’re there.

I’m not here to tell you about my company, but I had to preface with that information as today we have a very special guest with us. 4WillsPublishing Author/Client, Shirley Harris-SlaughterMrs. Slaughter is on the final day of her 7-day Blog Tour and she’s asking that you support this day as well as the other six, by visiting the EVENTS page at 4WillsPub. (If you stop by and leave a comment on Shirley’s Author Page, you will be entered into a drawing to win an interview with me on “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?” These interview segments are a hot commodity these days.  Check out Shirley’s).

She came onto the writing scene in 2007 with the release of her first book, OUR LADY OF VICTORY:  THE SAGA OF AN AFRICAN-AMERICAN COMMUNITY.  This book was recently re-released this year (2014) and it is garnering some well-deserved attention (check out her book trailer).

Shirley has come by to share with us a little about her upcoming release entitled:  “CRAZY, HOT AND LIVING ON THE EDGE!,” due for release soon.  I invite you to take a seat, sit back and relax (but keep your feet off my coffee table, though…you are not at home) and enjoy your visit with the very entertaining, Shirley Harris-Slaughter...

There are no words that can really explain ‘crazy’ as in an emotional roller coaster one experiences when your whole body is out of whack. Most of the time this is brought on by a hormonal imbalance that I believe every woman in this country is afflicted with. How else do you explain the dreaded cramps that virtually every female will experience in her lifetime?
I can remember one time during my monthly visit from our dear Mother Nature, that I experienced the crazies as well as those awful cramps. I started crying for no reason at all. Out of the clear blue, I started bawling like a baby and thought I was losing my mind. But, it was those darn hormones. This would not be the last time this would happen to me.
As the years went by, I experienced quite early another phenomenon, hot flashes! Yes, I was ‘hot’ and couldn’t explain it because it came in waves depending on what mood I was in. I was hot and uncomfortable all the time. Then when I reached 50+ I went into full blown menopause and a health crisis ensued.

In between all of this, my life became a balancing act of emotions, panic attacks, and stress. Not knowing when the attacks were going to strike kept me on edge. I was frightened out of my mind because there were no real answers out there.
I eventually reached a medical crisis!

Book Excerpt:

Call Me Crazy!
There are everyday stresses in your life that can accumulate and eventually cause health problems. I realized over time that I was suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). I came to this conclusion after several years of suffering. You see, I would wake up suddenly out of my sleep, heart racing, like I was running from something and just in a panicky state. I was breathing rapidly and was just in a state of terror. I looked it up and found the term for this was “Night Terrors.” It started during the separation and eventual divorce from my first husband. I was stalked, kidnapped from my job and held hostage overnight, and in my opinion, that experience is what triggered the PTSD and the Night Terrors. It took me many years to come to this conclusion.
One night, I was preparing my baby son for bed. After we both had our baths, I sat down and laid him on my chest to rock him to sleep. Suddenly, I started to feel this tightness in my chest. It felt like I was being squeezed, and it got worse and worse until I was writhing in agony and pain. I had difficulty breathing. I couldn’t get enough air in my lungs. My mother called for help, the police arrived and offered to take me down to Detroit Receiving Hospital, but my Mother said, “Over my dead body! You are not sending my daughter downtown….”

Bio

20140525_194501Shirley Harris-Slaughter is a Michigan native. She is a community activist having been a school board trustee in the Oak Park School District. She mentored four freshmen girls in the Winning Futures Program. Her interest also lies in politics and helping to elect candidates running for public office. She studies the issues and votes! Shirley loves trains, vintage clothes, and old buildings with historic significance. So it was a natural that she would write about growing up in historic Royal Oak Twp. and keep alive a catholic community that was about to lose its history and identity. Not to mention her desire to save a neglected train station – another piece of forgotten history. It seems that everything she loved closed down and she was not about to let any of it be forgotten.

Shirley joined Rave Reviews Book Club because she recognized the need to support fellow authors in order to move forward in her own endeavors. She already had a thriving relationship with like twitter followers. “We all had the same goals so it was a natural fit.”
The culmination of all these experiences moved her in the direction of becoming a first-time author. Unlike most authors who have a passion to write from early on. She was compelled to write because she had a piece of history to save.
 Our Lady of Victory, the Saga of an African-American Catholic Community
3-Church Photo

PURCHASE LINKS…
Amazon Kindle
Createspace
Limited Editions

SHIRLEY’S BLOGS…
http://shirleyslaughterblog.wordpress.com/
http://rememberourladyofvictory.com/

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

  1. Ladies, thanks for stopping by to support Shirley on the last day of her tour! Shirley, great post!

    Like

  2. Shirley Harris-Slaughter

    Hello Nonnie! I am so glad to be here. I appreciate you and everything that you are doing to promote Indie Authors. Thank you for having me.

    Like

  3. Shirley, I am looking forward to this new book. I had menopause forced on me through a hysterectomy. I know the hot flashes and the craziness. I am so happy that you are going to be sharing your story with us.

    Like

    • Shirley Harris-Slaughter

      Hi Kathryn. Don’t we ladies have a lot in common. I’m glad to be able to offer some help for all of us. And I am willing to bet there will be more women who will have some of the issues I have encountered and will be looking for answers. I think this is going to be a hot topic. Thank you so much Kathryn for always being supportive.

      Like

  4. harmonykentonline

    Wow, Shirley! This is quite a story, and I cannot wait until your new book comes out … it is definitely on my TBR!! You are such a strong woman, and I can only admire you for coming through so much so successfully. As ever, Nonnie, this is an inspiring article! 🙂

    Like

    • Shirley Harris-Slaughter

      Harmony it takes a lot for me to come out with such a story. Its not something I am exactly proud of, but how else do you get the opportunity to help others? There was no one out there for me except my wonderful mother. This book is morphing into more than I had planned. Thank you for supporting me the way that you have since I met you. lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

